• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Complete newbie question about trailers for hauling vehicles and equipment

kurtomatic

My first question I have as a new forum member today is regarding trailers, and if there are any recommended trailers I should be looking for.

My use case is, I recently purchased land in Navarro County TX; I already own a sub-compact tractor and a significant collection of attachments (JD 1025R + plus all the usual toys); but my gear is stored a few hours away, and I need to move it. Additionally, I will not be able to securely store my tractor gear onsite for a while, and until then some friends that live nearby have offered to store my gear at their place when I'm not there. So I don't need to just move it just once (or I'd borrow a trailer), but instead keep it loaded for portability most of time.

The equipment currently all (barely) fits in a 20ft shipping container. I can simply go buy me a typical 7.5k capacity, tandem axle car hauler new for about $4k. I would expect that to hold all the larger equipment, with a few extra bits needing to go in the back of the truck. I pretty much have that all worked out.

However, after having my mind blown by the availability of surplus military gear, I'd like to at least explore the idea of a military functional analog of the typical civilian car hauler. Something outside the box.

Anyone have any ideas or suggestions for surplus military trailers I could consider?

Cheers,
Kurt

Barrman

That is something many of us have looked for. However, the military didn’t ever really use anything smaller than a semi truck to fully haul vehicles. Yes, there are some trailers that can be made to do the job and I am sure an owner of one of them will write something.