• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Compression Testing on MEP 002A/003A

LuckyDog

Ok, Where do I find an adapter to test compression on a MEP 002a or 003a??

The glow plug is threaded 7/16x20 (Champion #182 or CH-42)

ALL the "Normal" glow plugs are a metric thread.

Anyone make an adapter or test fitting? My first thought was to just get a 7/16x24 bolt machined to seal the port, then drilled and tapped to accept a small "normal" glow plug test fitting.

I'm not a machinest. I'm an Engineer. (Mechanical) I can do a drawing of the device if someone can make the part....

Ideas????

Last edited:

NJ_Toolnut

Hi LuckyDog,

I can make an adaptor if you can post a drawing that illustrates precisely what you have in mind. It might take a couple weeks since I only do machining in my spare time.

Best regards,

Stan

LuckyDog

Thanks Stan,

I will get a drawing with all the details made up. It might take a couple days for me too. This generator is a hobby endeavor (with long term benifits).

--Paul

storeman

Guys, I made a tester from a bolt 7/16x24 and drilled through it on my wood drill press (with a very good bit and a couple of tries.

I think I told you about it Stan. When you were here, I was concerned about compression on one MEP-002a and was going to order piece-parts to put together a compression tester and injectors tester.

Next, tapped the head of the bolt to accept standard grease gun metal tube (name unknown), then to a fitting to accept the 2,000 psi gauge I use on a "jerry-rigged" setup I to adjust injectors. Couldn't really get a reading, so I scrapped the unit. I don't know if lack of reading was due to leakage or bad unit. I'm sure there is a better way than I chose.
Jerry [thumbzup]

PeterD