• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Converting MEP002a from 24v to 12v?

jmathis0809

I have a MEP002a generator that the solenoid is bad on. I have sent it out to get repaired but they are having problems finding the solenoid switch. They said some people have changed their system over to a 12v system in the past but don't know about doing it on this type a generator. Has anyone ever done this before? If so, what all did you have to change and what all did it effect? I am a rookie at this, so thanks for any information you can give me.

Guyfang

Staff member
So. You want to change just the starter? Or the whole gen set? Because EVERYTHING electrical on it, on the DC side is 24 VDC. That is a big undertaking. Doable. But no mater what you spend on a new starter, its not going to be more then changing the whole nine yards. What version starter are you looking for?

jmathis0809

So. You want to change just the starter? Or the whole gen set? Because EVERYTHING electrical on it, on the DC side is 24 VDC. That is a big undertaking. Doable. But no mater what you spend on a new starter, its not going to be more then changing the whole nine yards. What version starter are you looking for?
I would rather do the simplest thing. If you know where I can find a replacement starter or solenoid, that would be fantastic. I was just going off what the rebuilder was suggesting.

Scoobyshep

Is it just a solenoid or is the starter fried? If you cant source repair parts for it(its not really impossible) , how about only having 12 volt trigger the starter?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

jmathis0809