• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Coolant change on NHC250

rbrown225

Thanks in advance. This is my first time posting.

I recently got a M929 A0 and I am working on doing all the maintence checks.
I am stumped on the cooling system. Per the -23 section 0287 it has 47Qt / 11 3/4 Gal. system
The surge tank was full and I only drained about 7 gals. out of her. I refilled and flushed with water and only used about the same amount. Can not find another drain point. also is there a purge vent on the engine. I would like to get the old coolant out prior to refilling with fresh and SCA additive. Any help would be appreciated.

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor
typical. you can open the coolant access panels on the engine. But you won't get it all out. You may want to pull the covers off the radiator tanks and clean those probably if you had alot of gunk in it.

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
There should be a vent line from the stat housing to the surge tank. It will purge itself through the vent line. It is a good idea to remove it and blow through it to make sure it isn't plugged...the vent line.

M35A2-AZ

Steel Soldiers Supporter
There is a drain plug on the block on the passenger side at the back, up behind the exhaust pipe. I think it takes a 7/16" You may get more coolant out from it.

TechnoWeenie

Steel Soldiers Supporter
There is a drain plug on the block on the passenger side at the back, up behind the exhaust pipe. I think it takes a 7/16" You may get more coolant out from it.
Below the port where a block heater goes?