• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

couple fuel system questions

hellrayzor1

Im new to diesels and need to know some info if anyone can help me. I tried looking for posts and in the TMs but can't find the answers I need. I'm kinna forum impaired so please bare with me.

I tried to upload a few pics of what im talking about but there again im impaired so i hope they show up.

There are two devices that vaguely resemble ignition coils on the top or the intake manifold on my multi diesel. What are these and what do they do? Also the electrical connection going to them is dead even with the accessory swith turned on, is there another switch I need to turn on or is this normal or bad?

Last question: Can I remove the top of the injector pump (where the injector lines attach) to clean it out or are springs and things going to shoot all over the place? I have fuel to the pump and coming out of the return but nothing going to the injectors, thinking this may be clogged.

I took the 3/4 hex bolt out of the middle of the (cap) , when i turned the fuel pump on , fuel gushed up out of it. I read somewhere there is suppose to be a plunger in there so I tried to push down on what was inside the hole but it didn't move. Dont know if this is good or bad.

Thanks for your help and I hope i don't sound too hopeless, im trying :)

Attachments

Last edited:

Divemaster920

Banned
The ones on top are for your flame cold weather starts. The switch should be just inside the drivers door on the lower dash.
I can't help you with the second question, but I will be following to find out.

KaiserM109