• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Cracked Bolthole on Block for Starter

zdubz

First off, I'm a novice and am struggling to shim my starter. But I want to give a quick summary to explain the pictures and why 1 bolt is longer and using washers at the head.

A faulty fuel gauge resulted in running out of fuel. After refilling I found my starter to be grinding. I had only had the truck for a month and I did not know about the starter bracket at the time, but the previous owner didn't have it connected and I found the outer bolthole was cracked along the edges so taking some advice I drilled a little bit farther up into the block and re-tapped threads in the hole. I couldn't get the old starter or a refurb one to meet the flexplate right even with several shims so I replaced the flexplate by advice of a GM mechanic.

Now even with new flexplate I have the same problem I did before, which is the bendixon gear grinds and will not disengage even when shimmed alot. So far the only way I have been shimming when I say shimming is placing a shim around both bolts simultaneously. I don't know if I can shim just 1 of the holes or use washers instead or what, but in reading online it seems that some people do that.

Maybe I didn't HAVE to replace the plate just yet, I'm grateful I learned more about my truck but still can't even get the basics of shimming a starter down. Does anyone have experience on shimming just 1 bolthole or using flatwashers or which direction shimming 1 of the boltholes would move the bendixon gear?