• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Cummins swap a deuce

M109A3HQ-6

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Looking for anyone who has Cummins swapped a deuce. We are picking up our M109A3 the 1st of February and starting to conversion to a RV. We are considering swapping to a mechanical Cummins with a two wheel drive manual trans. Really don’t need info on how to do it just looking for real world info on the results good, bad, indifferent. I am retired military and know a fair bit about these trucks as well as building jeeps and motor swaps I am a skilled fabricator and mechanic knowing the weight difference I know a clutch upgrade will definitely have to happen. But how does the transfer case like the added torque axles are well known to handle the power I.e, they have been in high hp offroad rigs for years, but not down the highway for long periods of time though the have been in dump trucks and road tractors for years. But I think its just The center section and not the specific axle housing’s. The deuce axle has 6.72 ratio and might not like long use.

Any guidance you all can give would be grateful to receive.

Attachments

cbrTodd

Steel Soldiers Supporter

Youtube user Tactical Repair (also a member here) did a 5.9 12 valve swap and documented the results in one of his videos after a pretty lengthy first trip. I think he has had a few minor-ish issues but you can watch and form your own opinion. He has lots of videos from during and after the upgrade.

cbrTodd

Steel Soldiers Supporter