• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Deuce with LDT-465-1D Issues

JimmyHank

First off, hi everyone!! I'm new to the FMV world, but have been driving all kinds of MV's for the past 11 years. But very new to the multifuel engine world. I'm hoping yall can help me pinpoint my issues and make some recommendations. To get yall caught up... about a month ago, I bought a 1968 AM General M35A2 with the Continental LDT-465-1D in it. The truck seemed to be in good shape. I bought it in Missouri, but I'm stationed in Texas. I checked pricing and could not afford shipping, so I decided to try to drive it back... Worked great for a while. Started leaking oil from everywhere, but kept adding to it to keep the levels correct. Then the clutch went out and drove clutchless for a while. Then the motor began to make a knocking sound. Immediately pulled over to check the fluids, pulled the oil cap and white smoke rolled out, but the oil level still read between the 2 and 4 lines on the dipstick. I decided to call it quits then. It was about 50 miles northeast of Oklahoma City, when I stopped and had to fork out the cash for the remaining tow anyway. I think that's all the pertinent info...

OK, so here's what I found so far... Fired it up again prior to the tear down and the knock sounded more like top end noise this time around. But still couldn't pinpoint the location. It is in an outdoor barn with tin walls that echo. ha