• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Dodge tips sought

DDoyle

Supporting Vendor
Hi fellows,
Several years ago I helped my dad restore a couple of M37s....so I have some basic experience with Dodges.

I've owned a "sort of" CMU-5 for several years - and am preparing to begin the restoration of this. Does anyone have any tips?

I say sort of - because the truck has a CMU-5 - but rather than being mounted on a M56 chassis, it has been mounted on a stretched M37 chassis.

I'm also soon to start looking for all the gear that goes inside the truck - so any leads appreciated.

Regards,
David Doyle

RICE670

DD, I have 2 manuals on the cmu-5.I can send copies if you would like. I would be more than happy to help any way I can. From my research the list of tools are almost the same between the different models.My truck being a DOD conversion(watervalit arsenal) has tag lists on each compartment. Tool trucks are my favorite Scott

rumplecat

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Just Missed a Parts Truck

David:
If I known you were going to restore one, a pretty good example sold at the Ok forestry dept. sale at Golsby, this summer, for $500, the guy with the salvage yard out side Hooks bought it. It was short the bumper and winch but not a bad parts truck. I have some info. on my M715 varient of the contact maint. truck but the beds are different.
James

DDoyle

Supporting Vendor
RE: Just Missed a Parts Truck

Thanks guys - I bought this as a running, driving truck. The paint is rough on the steel parts - so-so on the aluminum bed. Any tips on sanding/priming/painting aluminum?