• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Does an M155 tank exist..

tamangel

Hi guys, my husband got me a tank book for Christmas as I'm into armored track layers..(something in my childhood I guess...) . Anyway, have come across a question: Is there such a machine as a M155 Sheridan? When I search the web, I see it used interchangeably with M551 Sheridan, some searches mention m155 but when I get to the page, its an M551.. So my question is this actually just a regular typo and only the M551 exists or is there such a thing as a M155? If so, can anyone direct me to specs and differences so I can add them to my book..

Be gentle, I'm just learning this stuff :)

Adios,

CW

remember, dyslectics have more fnu..

Heath_h49008

I think the issue is the 152 mm gun that was on the Sheridan commonly being called 155mm... similar letter-number combinations.

No M-155 I know of. But if it exists these guys will know...

Paladin6

CW,
The Sheridan tank is definitely the M551. M155 referring to the Sheridan must be a typo. There was a M115 8" howitzer, but it was a towed artillery piece. Hope that helps.

Varyag

Just check my book of nomenclature and no m155 exists.

numbering goes from M152 truck, panel utility 3/4 ton 4x4 to M157 truck amphibious, 8 ton 8x8.

edit- Is that t-30 similar to the m103 heavy tank?

Last edited:

L1A1

edit- Is that t-30 similar to the m103 heavy tank?
No. The T-30 looks like it could pass for the M26 Perishing's big brother where as the M103 looks like an M48 on steroids. Not sure how many in a batch of the "T series" they order, but the M103 reached production. The M103 was armed with a 120mm main gun which at the time was very big (required two loaders).