• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Does power steering still take man power

Gruemeyer

Hi

I am a Newbie .. IN fact my 1993 M109 arrived this morning on the back of a low boy trailer.. After the driver unloaded he stated what a pain .. no power steering..

I drove it to the back lot and noticed what I thought was Power assist (sort of).. My question is how easy should the steering be.. Mine still requires a bit of manly arm power? Can anyone advise..

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
The system could be turned off. There IS a shutoff valve in the air line.

But yes, it is ASSISTED steering, not POWER steering. Can you hear it venting when turning left to right?

Gruemeyer

One more time

Hi

I am a Newbie .. IN fact my 1993 M109 arrived this morning on the back of a low boy trailer.. After the driver unloaded he stated what a pain .. no power steering..

I drove it to the back lot and noticed what I thought was Power assist (sort of).. My question is how easy should the steering be.. Mine still requires a bit of manly arm power? Can anyone advise..
Hi Folks.. If the power assist is functioning correctly.. is the steering still heavy?

I do not expect it to steer like my Crown Vic..however want to know if it should be better than an old farm tractor without a suicide knob?

Thanks again.:deadhorse:

1 Patriot-of-many

Steel Soldiers Supporter
You'll know the difference if it's working. Still takes a bit of effort on mine, but you'd know if it was working. The valve is not on the dash. It's in the engine compartment on the firewall. You can't miss the little butterfly valve. Make sure it's fully open.

73m819

Rock = older than dirt , GA. MAFIA , Dirty
Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
Hi