• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Drive CUCV off the GL/DRMO yard????

jworth94

I'm new to this process...

I'm trying to get an idea of how many people actually drive thier vehicles off the GL/DRMO yard.

I suppose there are a lot of hurdles, but do most people drive or get a tow?????

The reason I ask... after talking with my local GL guy, he said after the sale goes through it wouldn't be a problem to get a mechanic in there with some batteries, etc.

Thanks,

Jon

SCSG-G4

PSVB 3003
Steel Soldiers Supporter
You need to search for "bent drive shaft" threads and read them, then ponder your question. (IE, many drive shafts get bent at the DRMO lot and the likelihood that you will get one in great shape is quite low without an inspection beforehand).

deucebigalo

You need to search for "bent drive shaft" threads and read them, then ponder your question. (IE, many drive shafts get bent at the DRMO lot and the likelihood that you will get one in great shape is quite low without an inspection beforehand).

:ditto: And also dont count on what GL puts in its posting on the condition of the truck, in most cases they are not 100% correct!!! Just be prepared to make some fixes or have a tow truck available....this is just my2cents

jworth94

Maybe I should have asked... "Does anyone drive off the yard?"

Those are good points about the condition and drive shaft. I'll have to do some further investigation.

Jon

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
It depends which yard. Some will let you, some won't. Ask first. It is really not a good idea to plan to drive out.

greenjeepster