• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Dump Truck Running Poorly

sandcobra164

I helped another member recover a M817 out of Albany. The truck made it to my house (15 Miles) but is running poorly. It will only run at full throttle and if you let the clutch out too quickly and bring the rpm's down, it will stall. It is hard to crank without ether as well. Please steer me in the right direction, this truck needs to go about 350 more miles to it's owner's home and he wants to drive it. I told him that I'd take a look at it but I'm new to the 5 tons. Please give some suggestions as to what I need to check so that we can have a more successful recovery effort.

Ferroequinologist

Resident railroad expert
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Fuel filter changed? if it is blocked it would cause hard starting and starvation issues at lower throttle settings. Also, I would check the fuel line for air leaks, especially the tank valve under the cab. There are a couple of rubber hoses that like to crack and split on that valve. Air getting into the fuel line could allow the engine to run if it is pulling the fuel through fast enough to overcome the air leak.

5 tons don't have in tank pumps.

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter