• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Electrical question for M1010 with Plan B Mod

jpg

I am trying to understand the electrical system on my M1010. If there are folks out there familiar with this system, I'd appreciate some guidance. I'm an MV newbie. I worked as a Master Electrician in the theater, so I have a clue about circuitry, but little automotive expertise.

I am trying to keep the truck stock, to the extent possible, and to make it as reliable as possible.

The top alternator died, so we're doing the Plan B Mod, replacing it with a single-wire 12v alternator feeding the 12v distribution block, and disconnecting the DUVAC. It appears someone hacked up the electrical system before the truck was surplussed. We're trying to restore it to as near to stock as we can, given the Plan B Mod.

Recovery without the top alternator gave me ample experience at jump-starting the truck when parts of the system are not working. It also got me thinking about exactly how much of the system needs to be working for the truck to start.

Here is my question: Once the truck is working properly, is there anything in the starting circuitry that requires 12v at the 12v distribution block? I've studied the TM wiring diagrams, and I think the answer is "no", but I figured I should ask. I'm told the glow plug circuitry is 12v, but it seems they're fed from the 24v distribution block, through a resistor that evidently drops the voltage to 12v. The starter is certainly 24v.

I know things like lights, fans and gauges require 12v at the 12v block. If I understand correctly, I should be able to start the truck even if I have 0 volts at the 12v distribution block. I just need good power at the 24v distribution block. Is this the case?