• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

FASS in a M923 with Cummins 250

Vintage iron

As a diesel mechanic I am always looking for ways to improve the way our trucks run. After I sold Stevepala a Cummins big cam 400 Last year. Steve told me about the benefits of a Fuel, Air, Separation, System. I did some homework and came up with some design flaws in The Cummins 250 fuel system. First of all our PT pump needs to suck the fuel from the tank through a restriction (the filter). This makes the pump work harder, causes cavitation in the pump and makes aerated fuel through air leaks. Adding a FASS will supply the PT pump with fuel that pressurized to 12PSI, free of air and filtered to 4 micron. By supplying clean and pressurized fuel to the PT pump we get higher pump pressure to the injectors and better injector spray pattern due to the pure fuel. My customer Greg pulled the trigger on adding a FASS on his M923 that runs on 1400R20 Michelin XZLs. His truck already ran great so I was not sure how much a FASS would increase the way his truck ran, but adding a FASS also protects the engine too.

Greg bought the FASS from distributor and after a few talks with the helpful techs at FASS I ordered the all of the fittings needed to install it. I ran all new Aeroquip feed and return lines to the FASS and the engine. Martin Cox helped my with the right place to tie into the truck wiring.

After the install the truck ran noticeably smoother and stronger. Hills that the truck would loose power on before, now you can power right up, Shifts are firmer and the truck wants to pull. Maybe Greg can give a better explanation of the improvement since it is his truck and he drives it all the time.

103.jpg104.jpg108.jpg110.jpg112.jpg

Elideclan2