• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Find the right Deuce

Gman021

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Disclaimer: I know very little about military surplus vehicles because I am just getting started.

I've decided now is the time to purchase a deuce and was wondering what to look for in one. I know I want a M35A2, but that's about all I know. I've read some specs on different ones, but I know you guys are the experts. I just wanted to know what to stay away from and what to be attracted towards.

I am not a mechanic and now very little about car terms but I know people that have shops that can fix whatever. You may have to dumb it down for me while I'm still learning.

Also, where do you guys go to get surplus vehicles. Are there any military scrap yards one can go to to look around and check things out? I think that would be the coolest thing to do, but the only places I know are private businesses that don't have huge selections.

Thanks guys

greenjeepster

What is your budget? The m35a2 has been basically the same vehicle for 40 years so as far as specs, not much is different. 1986 and later have a better brake system than the older ones do.

If you're not mechanically inclined you should probably lean towards private purchase of one rather than auction, the auction trucks generally need repairs and if you don't already have an idea what to look for..... we will not be able to teach you what you need to know on a forum. Also the auction supply of M35a2s is pretty well dried up at this point.