• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

First MV, and a 5ton! Just purchased a M817

TurboJoe

Hey everyone, I'm new here but have browsed a bunch from time to time. The circumstances were right for me to bid on a GL auction for an M817 that I won. All my friends are asking me what I'm going to do with it, I guess they just don't understand.

Running condition is unknown and I'm trying to plan the haul out. I am new to military trucks, but certainly not new to trucks and cars in general. Very mechanically inclined with the tools, experience, and machinery to go along with it. Going to bring batteries and supplies for a quick shot of getting it started, otherwise we will trailer it home.

The first step will be loading the truck onto a buddy's 20ton tag trailer. We have a few ideas, but was wondering if there are any other options I'm not thinking of.

The plan that will work with out question is bringing his full size backhoe to the site and using that to push the truck on to the trailer, but this means another trip back to grab the backhoe. Trips will be about 20 miles each way, so its not really that big of a deal. My other option is if its possible to use my f350 to pull the truck up onto the trailer from a slight angle on the side. Anyone have any luck with this? The truck has plenty of power and gear reduction in 4x4 low, but traction might be an issue and or drive train strain. Trailer will be pulled by his dump truck, not the f350 just to clear that one up :)

Thanks for any help, can't wait to be part of the club.

Joe

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
Welcome to the wonderful world of 5 tons.:cookoo: Hope you have a strong back.