• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Four wheel steering

InfiniteFoamies

I have a freind who has a front axle just sitting around:naner: so has anyone who bobs their duece out a front axle in the rear and done four wheel steering? The biggest problem I will have is controlling it, I am going to look at a friends power steering kit and may use that only on the aft front axle.

rchalmers3

Half a mile from the Broad River
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have no experience in the conversion but I once saw a deuce for sale on Craigslist that had a front axle fitted to the rear. The seller connected the front axle to the rear with a long steering link, so as the front axle turned one way, the rear turned the other.

I seem to recall him mentioning it worked good at lower speeds.....

Rick

blackrock

Monster trucks dont use any locks to keep them straight. They have a self centering switch which in auto model will return the steering to center when the toggle is released. They also have the option of auto and Manuel switch.

InfiniteFoamies

Thanks for the info, I don't have experience with four wheel steering. Think I could get away with using the power steering kit? Trying to do this one budget...trying.

blackrock

When you say power steering kit what do you mean? for the front? I had full hydro on my lifted deuce best thing i ever did. If i was going to do rear steer. I would use the pump from above, a psc steering ram and either make a self center switch or buy on from dan patrick (they cost like $500) very nice unit he makes but expensive. Now if you plan on driving it on the street you will need to make a lock arm to hold the wheels straight .

InfiniteFoamies