• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Frequent Break Downs

johnhenry

I'm new to steel soldiers, but to read some of the posts, it sounds like the military trucks are pron to problems? ...If so, is it because of their age, or just rough use?

m1010plowboy

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Not many guys....or girls, post until there is a problem but it's a good question to start a positive thread for a change.

After I bought my M1010 she plowed snow and ran parades for 6000 miles with just regular maintenance. I did baby it, bathed her, parked her in a warm shop, so the driving conditions and driver will dictate life-span. My problems came when it sat for a year and a half. Having a great knowledge base on what 'not to do'...like trying to start them with one bad battery....helps extend the life. I expect that the new owner will be able to run it for another 20 years if he treats her good.

My 60 year old M135 has toured for 5 years with a few minor leaks but with a serious maintenance regime she just keeps going. Restoration was done on Brakes, Steering, Rubber, electrical, Paint, etc but it still has all the original drive-train that I bought it with.

It'll be cool reading about other long term life-spans the honored Steel Soldiers have achieved. Great firstish post and welcome aboard to Steel Soldiers!

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Both. Most of the trucks have sat most of their life. Then we get them and head to the trials, it takes a toll on the old parts!