• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Fuel Pump Replacement

cucvegas

This is my first time replacing a fuel pump, so please bear with me.

I am replacing the fuel pump in an m998 humvee according to TM20-2 (para 3-23 pg 3-36), and I did not order the gasket (8) that goes on the mounting plate (7).

The youtube videos I watched did not remove the mounting plate from the block, so I did not order that gasket (8).

So, when I removed the old fuel pump, the push rod feels like it is wedged behind the mounting plate, and I can't budge it with a hacksaw blade, flat head screw driver, or needle nose pliers.

Should I just remove the mounting plate and order that gasket online? (O'Reilly's did not have the fuel pump, so I ordered it on Amazon).

I tried cycling the engine a couple different times in hopes the cam would move enough to free up the push rod. No luck, still stuck in there.

Or, can I get away with grey gasket maker instead of the mounting plate gasket?

Thanks for any advice.

LouWon

Steel Soldiers Supporter
You can but the gasket at any local automotive shop.
I usually remove the plate and clean everything out, remove the push rod, clean and apply grease so it will hold in place when you re-install the pump
You should buy 2 gasket, a bit of silicone on them will also hold them in place

papakb