• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Fusable Link???????

CARNAC

The Envelope Please.
Supporting Vendor
I've heard this term on numerous threads.

Excuse my ignorance but what is a fusable link? I looked it up in the 34 manual and can only find the term dealing with the M1010 cracker box.

Where are they at on a M1009?

What am I looking for if one is burned out and do I repair it with standard 10 gauge wire?

Just remember, I'm not a mechanic, I just play one on TV.
or better yet, I just find out where most peoples vehicles have been---CARNAC needs enlightened.

Bobert

Not really sure where to find fusable links like these ones, but therer are a bunch by the driver side firewall and scattered all around.

Here is an example of a good one and a burned out one. (I don't know if they always burn this much though)

Attachments

Crash_AF

A fusible link is a smaller piece of wire in line with a larger wire that is designed to burn out if the wire is subjected to too much current. It's basically a non-replaceable fuse. You have to cut the link out and splice in a new one if it burns out.

Later,
Joe

CARNAC

The Envelope Please.
Supporting Vendor
Brings up another question:

If I got access to an AN/PSM-95 STE-ICE SPORTS, would it be capable of telling me IF and WHERE I may have one burnt?

Only issue I continue to have with my M1009 is with the heater. I replaced the coil and the blower seems to work fine but no heat. All other lights and systems appear to work fine (knock on authenic, simulated, plastic wood).

Thanks for the info so far.

acetomatoco