• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

General Deuce Q's

Rattlewagon

OK, since I am new to MV trucks, I have been trying to learn as much as I can about the M35 as I can, I have done numerous searches for this info, some have been helpful however, I still have more questions.

1. What is the difference in the MF engines? Why do some have what look like little filters or pumps and plumbing and sometimes even a metal cover over them? This is all on top of the engine sitting directly above the cooling manifolds.

2. What is the difference in the trans shifters? Some are bent while others have a gentle arc... Also, I have noticed that the horn buttons are different; some are large while others are small... I understand that it maybe just the age of the truck, but just an observation...

3. How hard is it to install another airpack for 2 zone braking? Are the parts even available without "engineering" something? What kind of proportioning valve would be used? (I think this alone is what gives me concern about owning one of these trucks.)

4. What mileage do the transfer cases usually seem to start popping out of high range?

I know some of these seem academic but I would rather be informed than sorry. :oops:

Thanks
dan

Stan

RE: General Deuce Q

1. This is the maniford heater for cold weather starting, some have an either injection system instead.

3. I belive it's the M35A3's have a split system, so you don't have to engineer a system.

4. Haven't read of a mileage range, never really know the miles for sure anyway.

Just what info I could offe rI'm sure theres more to follow.

DanMartin