• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

General question about diesel engine electrics

bshupe

Ok, so I am in pursuit of a battery drain in my system and while this post is not specifically about that problem my troubleshooting process raised a question for me. I am new to diesel so please dont flame me if this is a total noob question.

All of my previous automotive experience has been with gas engines. When you had a situation where your battery was not holding a charge the fastest, easiest way to see if the alt was bad or not was to start the car and then disconnect the battery. If you turn everything in the car on and it all worked you were pretty safe in saying the alt is fine.

I tried this with my CUCV and after a short but noticeable pause, the engine died and all lights etc turned off after removing the neg cable. I had expected the engine to keep running and the lights etc. to either stay on or go off or weak (based on my gasser experience)

Is there something different about diesel engines or CUCVs that would cause this result after removing the battery cable? Or, did I actually confirm that my drivers side alt is completely dead and thats why the engine and everything died after disconnecting the battery. If the alt is dead then how is it keeping running with the cable connected? Is the passenger side/rear battery alt backfeeding the front battery through the rear and so this is keeping it driving with one bad alt?

What is it that turns off a diesel in the first place since it has no electric ignition and a mechanical fuel pump? Im embarrassed to ask this but I just need to know.