• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Generator Repair Training Materials Recommendation Needed

Beerslayer

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The easiest thing to do when you don't know how to do something is to ask for help.

I have an MEP-701 [MEP-016b] generator that starts and runs fine but does not put out any power.

I have spent several weeks off and on reading every thread on this I can find both here and at SmokStak and find that the information I need is fragmented, but also almost hopelessly cluttered up with irrelevant posts. I have used the search function :-?

What I realized is that even though I am a journeyman electrician, I don't know squat about generators and that I need to learn how to troubleshoot and repair them.

Can any of you guys who have training and experience in this subject recommend and link to training materials that will get me started in the right direction?

Here is what I have found so far:
Operation, Maintenance and Repair of Auxiliary Generators

Small AC Generator Service Manual, Volume 2

Small AC Generator Service Manual, 3rd Edition

Since
nopics

Here is a cover pic of
Operation, Maintenance and Repair of Auxiliary Generators

Attachments

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Generator repair is best left to trained professionals , they are capable of killing if done incorrectly .

Isaac-1

You did not ask for it, but the most likely failures to result the problem your describing are bad rotating rectifier diodes on the end of the rotor, or bad automatic voltage regulator. If it is the votlage regulator there are schematics in the tech manual, several people have replaced them with the cheap Chineese import Stamford Newage SX-460 clones sold on ebay in the $50-$75 range.

Ike

Beerslayer