• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

glow plug module switch

jfmrj

I just got a 85' m1009 and the glow plug module was missing. I had a guy wire in a bypass button at a army surplus shop. It still doesn't start. I put a volt meter on the solenoid and its getting 24 volts. The solenoid looks like a old style ford one. I was thinking that it should be 12 volts. Is this right or wrong? Also when I put the meter on one of the glow plug wires it reads less than 4 volts when the button is pressed. I'm not really good with the wiring so if someone had detailed instructions on how to properly wire in the button it would be greatly appreciated. Pictures would be helpful as well.

ida34