• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

HAUNTED CUCV, SMOKE, AND STRANDED Starter Relay???

M1028A1ShelterCarrier

Attempted to start my M1028 today and there was no power sent to the starter. I went inside the house and had the keys in my pocket. A short time later while I was on the phone, I heard a truck cranking. After about twenty seconds, I still heard the cranking and I realized it was my truck. I ran outside and it was smoking. I pulled the negative to prevent a fire.

So what went bad to for that to happen? I replaced the starter and the starter relay recently. I am by no means an electrical engineer. Did the new relay go bad and send power to the starter? Any ideas would be welcome as I plan to tear into it tomorrow morning. Although it was smoking, I hope my new hi-torque starter is no fried.

ken

Steel Soldiers Supporter
There is a starter relay under the dash right by where the civi radio would mount. Its a rectangle relay with 4 wires comming out. Mine quit a coulpe of months ago. There is a thread on this with pics. I ordered a new one from GM and paid about $40. But afterwards i realized it's the same relay as the heater blower motor relay on the civi trucks with AC. About $13 at autozone.

acetomatoco

The famous failure to start... the dreaded purple wire... you can cut the wire and insert a pushbutton like an old ford...and do the same thing... turn key to start and push the button... or you can replace the 2 bit relay with a heavy duty one like the glow plug relay and mount it in the engine compartment near the fuel filter and feel safe again....

Michael

Strange it waited until he got inside to make connection. I have had two fail in the open position. I have some pics of mine here: