• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

!!Help!! M809 Series Starter trouble

Boosted_Nelson_Inc.

First of all, I have no experience with 5-tons, so of course I had to have one. Today I went to Drexel Gardens, IN to pick up the M818 I bought on GL. Truck looks good except for 10 well worn tires (the spare is brand new). Batteries all had decent voltage, but when flipping the ignition switch to start all I get is a click from a relay I assume. Also every once in a while, when turning the battery switch to on, the gauges and buzzer for the air pressure failed to react.
I know it wasn't a battery issue, because a helpful member of our armed forces came along and offered to get a set of slave cables and jump us from his M931 tractor. Unfortunately, it didn't help. He then gave the Protective Control Box a few good hits with a wrench, and tried jumping the selenoid on the starter, but we just got a few sparks. I tried smacking the starter with a mallet, but still no change.
Finally, we tried pull starting it, but due to snow and ice covered roads, we couldn't get up enough speed to accomplish anything.
Has anyone had this problem before? It looks like I'll have to replace the either the PCB or starter (or I guess the motor could be locked up), but I wanted some advice before I blow a couple hundred bucks on parts.

MilitaryRestoration