• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How can I add a 12 v Alternator?

reblawyer

I have searched the threads and can't find anything addressing this question. I would like to add a 12 volt alternator to my truck and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions or ideas on getting that done. Thanks for any input.

abh3

I'm far from a Duece expert but on heavy equipment we just run a wire, WITH OVERLOAD PROTECTION like an appropriatly sized breaker, off one 12v battery in the series positive post to a little fuseblock (I like the ones for boats, they're tougher),then through switches and on to the various devices. The ground is similarly arranged, with a little terminal block and then back to that battery.This way I have 12v driving and flood lights (cheap!) and a radio on a 24v machine. I see no reason this wouldn't work on the Duece though the radio would have to be a THUMPER to be heard over the engine racket!!!

reblawyer

I'm wanting to get more amps nad would like to seperate my systems so that I don't run the risk of screwing up something in in 24 v system. I'm going to be running some items related to a wvo system as well as some other 12 v accessories. I also going to use it to occasionally power a high amp 12 volt inverter.

MrAugust

a ha... i get ya, use a power reducer, in the jeep some on has done as stated above, and made a fuse typr reducer that brings the load to 12 v... its like 8 fuses starting high to low to winde down the load, its weired, but an army conversion in batt box... to run 12 volt flashers/ beacons......

devilman96

You can add an inverter but can only get so many amps but enough to run a radio plus a few odds and ends.