• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How come the engines are so dang loud?

linesplice

OK, so someone can get a laugh from this, but I'm a newbie to these trucks and I am wondering why the 6-cyl diesel engines are so dang loud? I've had a number of 6-cyl diesel's on various (farm) tractors over the years and none of them are anywhere near the 100db. I have heard people say these things emit.

ken

Steel Soldiers Supporter
So the enemy can hear you comming for 10 miles and have plenty of time to set up a ambush.

linesplice

You'd think with 22:1 compression, they could squeeze more than 140 horse power out of them. What's the torque rating on the multi-fuel engines. Seperately, how come there is almost no information on the R6602 gasser - some people say it has a load of torque?

Westech

CPL
Its the multi's combustion chamber that gives it the low hp. The fule is sprayed on the sides of the cylinder wall and just a little bit in the center. That way it can burn all different fuels with different flash points. ( it burns more even *this is what makes it multi fuel*) You ever hear a cummins knocking away? thats because the fuel is sprayed right in the center and it makes big HP. But do you hear a multi knocking away? you better not!! its a compromise between power and flexibility.

Jones

De-tuning give less power but longer engine life. Locomotives where I used to work have Detroit 20V645s and 710s that put out 3,200 to 3,600HP. The same engine, for marine applications, with changes in pump timing and minor cam differences but no other modifications is capable of producing 6,000HP.
At the 3,200HP settings the RR gets 1,000,000+ miles between major overhauls better than 95% of the time.

linesplice