• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How did you acquire YOUR M-10xx?

Howdy folks.

Among all the other things I find myself doing, building, selling or wanting to find, I am looking for M-1009's (though pickups / shelters would be groovy too).

Newbie here, but have owned dozens of various iron.
I recently picked up (almost by accident) a 6.2/auto 1/2T Suburban (civvy) at an auto auction. Turns out the stupid thing, despite being used up, worn out, and soundly thrashed inside and out, still runs pretty well, and !!!!! it had a Banks turbo kit on it...

The thing gets basically 19mpg from every tank, and the 'tactical' ability to run on many things besides what comes from a retailer is handy..

This has led me to want to add more 6.2 powered stuff to the fleet.
GL is kind of disappointing to look at, it seems that some ham-fisted mechanics and liability lawyers don't want you buying anything that Uncle Sam is done with.

5K to a rebuilder seems ridiculous...

And Units in private hands are not very common.

My question is this; How did YOU purchase your M-10xx truck?

I have noticed a few threads regarding waiting for End-Use paperwork, which suggests that these are purchased at DMRO auctions...

any info appreciated.

peace
Dave

Jetnoise400

Hi Dave,

First of all, welcome to SS. To answer your question, I found my M-1009 on Craigslist. Turns out the seller was also advertising it in MV magazine, but I didn't figure that out until after I went to look at the truck for the first time. And he had it listed cheaper in Craigslist, so I got a better deal on it.