• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How do you know when to change fuel filter?

rjinga

Can you tell I'm a non-mechanical newbie? I've read a lot about the importance of changing the fuel filter (especially if burning biodiesel), but how do you know when to do it unless/until the vehicle has trouble starting or running?

I've only had it since January of this year, and the previous owner installed a spin-off filter housing. I can't remember how "old" he said this filter was. Once I change it (looking for threads on how to do that properly too), do I just keep track of the mileage, like an oil change?

xenocath

searching.............
nothing set in stone. usually annually, every 50000 miles or when you have issues is what a web search turned up. i put a spin on racor filter on my truck last year sometime and i am running wmo have not had any issues as of yet i am not gonna change mine till something messes up to indicate a need. *i do however carry a spare element in the truck.

Last edited:

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
The stock filter setup has a pressure sensor in it. The STE/ICE diagnostic unit could read the amount of pressure and you would use that number to tell when to change the filter. among other things.

Without the STE/ICE unit it is just a guess on when to change it.

I would say at least every year.

Last edited:

diesel583

I change mine every 2nd oil change. Twice a year. My company truck, 50000 mi a year gets one every oil change. Aout 10 times a year. Cheap insurance against break downs and IP rebuilds are not cherap.

top_prop