• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How much can a Humvee push?

Status
Not open for further replies.

buhdontcare

Hey Guys - I'm a newb on here who was going to purchase an m998 & the deal ended up falling apart. I'm now purchasing a nice 6.2L one from a guy on these forums! Anyway, I live in a new development & I've befriended the foreman & crew over the last year. I want to take my new humvee (w/ the appropriate heavy duty bumper..) & push their construction dumpster down the road each night. In addition, I tend to be "that guy" who does crap like this on the regular...So in general I'm curious

How much can a Humvee push? Or is this not advisable.

DLJIII

I would try pull more than I pushed with it. As far as an exact number, I have no idea. I have pulled full sizes school buses and up rooted damaged trees from the ground. I have not tried to push hardly just a few stalled vehicle stuck directly on the roadways. I have reached the conclusion these rigs can pull just about anything.

Victorkilo31

I'm not sure if I'd try to move a construction dumpster with one unless it was a smaller one that wasn't very full. I know I used to pull 2 tailers loaded with about 12k pounds on a flightline area, but I think they pull trailers easier than a dumpster would be. But I would probably try pulling than pushing it as well

DatGuyC

The amount a HMMWV will push is directly proportional to how deep your wallet is. Don't want to spend any money fixing your truck, don't push stuff.

Awol

You'll only know what it'll do if you try it once.

I'd think it be fine, unless there's a ton of weight in the dumpster.

snowtrac nome