• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How much trailer behind a M880?

Blythewoodjoe

I am wondering what you guys think of pulling a trailer with a Dodge M880 (886 in my case). I don't care about what the manual says it will pull, I want to know what you guys think about a 34 year old truck with the original auto trans pulling a trailer several hours at highway speed. I am always a little hesitant to put a load on an old dodge, but I have no experience with these transmissions. I grew up driving 3/4 ton dodges but we had 4 speed manuals in everyone of them and they were bullet proof. I want to pull a trailer to the Georgia rally but I don't want to over do the old truck and end up on the side of the road.

Your thought are wanted,
Joe

Elwenil

If the 727 is healthy, it will easily take more than the engine has power to pull. It's the same basic transmission used behind the 426 Hemi, 440 SixPak and other very powerful engines. As long as it has a cooler to keep the temps down I wouldn't worry about it. Now the little 318, stock brakes and other odds and ends may be another story, lol.

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I used to pull a triple axle bumper pull trailer with my D-3 Cat dozer on it. Tractor was 13,000. Kept it under 40 mph to keep the brake calipers from overheating.

goodbrewing

I have an 886 that has towed a couple other 886s and many other vehicles and materials on trailers thousands of problem free miles. They were built to work so don't baby them. But that's just my opinion.

Blythewoodjoe

Well I'm now confident enough to do something foolish. I rarely need encouragement for that. If you see a fast moving ambulance on the back roads of Georgia in a few weeks, get out of the way :driver:.

busbart