• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How to make HMMWV street legal.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pathfinder99

I am a Marine Vet and see that they are about to auction off HMMWVs and I was wondering how hard are they to make street legal? I live in TN any help would be greatly appreciated!

Semper Fi!

Flyingvan911

There's a ton of stuff. I think there are some threads in the HMMWV forum. It's still a huge and messy debate about the auctions and what the details may or may not be. Several threads have been closed lately due to wild speculation.

patracy

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
1. Welcome to the site.

2. Those being sold are sold without any title and for off road purposes. You also will have to sign a release stating as such. That said, there's probably a way to trick the DMV to title it, wrong or right.

3. Don't expect even these "off road only" trucks to sell cheap.

Coffey1

Steel Soldiers Supporter
That would be illegal and wrong if you as a man of your word and sign a statement to it.
Is a truck worth jail time .

Pathfinder99

Was reading the hold harmless agreement and the only thing it says is that it is for off road use. It says nothing about not being allowed to covert it to on road use....

MWMULES

Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
Actually what it states is, " Buyer acknowledges that the Humvee is not roadworthy and agrees that Humvee is for off-highway use only". Only=alone of its or their kind; single or solitary

Last edited:

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Let's make sure we only talk about legal stuff and not about how to get around laws illegally.

Coffey1

Steel Soldiers Supporter