• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Humvee won't start

Chagawaga

I just bought me a 1993 HMMWV that ran perfect. I took it to Avis lube changed the oil filled it with diesel ( the fuel gauge was 1/4 but it too 20 gallons. Lesson number 1) drove it around perfect.
Left it for two days now it cranks but wont start. I jumped the batteries and kept trying to crank to no avail. I am no diesel mechanic but things I tried:
1-Cracked fuel line to see if fuel is getting there. ( two rubber tubes have fuel but metal o e on i jectoe head doesnt. Whats that anyway?)
2- traced line back to the " carburetor equivalent " just where it feeds the cylinders, it had flow when cranking but just a little. Is that okay?
3- did continuity check on one glow pluck and it checked good.(voltmeter between cable and glow plug). I can see voltage dropping down when wait light is on so I think they are good.
Its 40 degrees outside ( i read about diesel becoming gel like in cold weather)
4-There is no smoke when I crank.
Help please.

springbok

Open one of the fuel lines right at the injector and get someone to crank it for you and see if you get fuel out at the injector. Unless you meant that in the " carburetor equivalent "
Sounds like no fuel to me.

Chagawaga

I think youre right. I just watched some youtube videos. The injector line is not getting fuel. I cracked it open but no fuel when I crank.
Where do I start to check? And locations please.
Also what are these two rubber hoses next to injector line? These have fuel in them.
Thabks a lot

springbok

The rubber hoses are overflow lines they recycle excess fuel back.
I would make sure you have fuel coming out of your injector pump, that is towards the from between the heads.