• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

I might be a little crazy – 4,000 mile M1079 recovery Illinois to Alaska

AKPacker

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Hi All,

I've been considering a MV for many years now, I originally joined this forum way back in 2011 when I nearly bought a surplus M35A3 at auction. Back in March I finally pulled the trigger on a cherry 2008 M1079A1R in Illinois with plans to drive it home to Alaska in June. I've started this thread to document the work I'll do to the truck and the journey back home.

Here’s the truck:
IMG_20240324_184628029_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240324_184645030_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240324_130706727_HDR~2.jpg

IMG_20240324_183234156_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240325_180139310.jpg

I flew down to test drive and inspect it before purchase, and aside from a hastily applied black paint job, it is basically a nearly new, unaltered truck with only 1000 miles on the odo. It was owned by a fire department after Uncle Sam, so even though they didn't put many miles on it they'd regularly start it up to circulate the fluids and keep the batteries charged. The inspection turned up a few minor issues outlined below that I’ll need to sort out before hitting the road.

I plan to do the following upgrades before leaving Illinois:
  • Install Ecohubs
  • Install new 14.00R20 tires with balance beads
  • Install 3-piece run flat inserts on the front tires
  • Add sound insulation to the cab (its LOUD in there and my wife and daughter plan to join me for part of the trip)
  • Install LED headlights
  • Upgrade the seats & install suspension seat bases (no air ride cab on the A1R)
  • Install an Arduino CTIS controller from Plasa
  • Install a backup camera
  • Security updates:
    • Keyed ignition
    • Door keys