• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Idle surge after injection head o-ring replacement and fdc bypass

MultifuelM35a2

Hello all I’m new to this and appreciate any and all help. I have a 1970 m35a2 with a LDT 465 and I’ve owned it for about a year and a half now. No problems with it at all. Ran like a top from day one and was very dependable. However I had recently discovered that my deuce was “making oil” and found out it was the injection head o-ring was leaking pretty good. But I had heard that the problem could also include the FDC leaking and the booster pump seal leaking. The engine was rebuilt in 90 according to the tag on the engine and nothing has been into on the injection pump before me because everything was still all wired up and painted with no chips. So I lined all my timing marks up with the correct LTD 465 mark on the harmonic balancer and took of the injection pump. I replaced the booster pump seal and both injection head o-rings and watched a video on how to adjust the fuel shutoff pin screws and wired the screws. It moves freely. I also bypassed the FDC. It took a while to start but a rag with fuel on it by the intake did the trick. Once started it doesn’t want to idle at all. It does when you have your foot on the throttle. It will idle very roughly after it warms up a little. It drives with a slight roughness but seams to get better after a little bit. However once you shut it off and let it cool and then start it again your back at square one and it doesn’t want to idle at all or nearly dies trying to idle. The idle smooths out at 1000 rpms but then as they go up it seams to get rougher again. I’m not sure what to look for in terms of fixing it because it started this problem after a did all three things at once