• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

im new and ihave questions

broncxl302

ok soo im very new to this army thing. i have always wanted one since i was little im now 20 and got my hands on a 1955 M54 5ton with a 602 gasser, i love it. but i have questions. ive had it about a year now i use it on the farm to get hay. i do hay rides. and i have notice my front axle does not engage. so i went on here and did hours of looking at forums and found that the scrag gear? i think it is. or just the scrag, scag. i forgot. im sorry. but i here they have all kinds of issues. but i was crawling around under it and noticed my front driveshaft is locked in place. i was woundering do the hubs on these lock and unlock automatically to or are they always engaged? thats really my only question. i would jack the truck up but i have not yet purchased a jack large enough for it. home depot doesnt pay me that much. thanks for the help i hope i didnt miss read antyhitng that already answers that. also if you have anything else to throw in there that i should know would be great to. thanks

broncxl302

i have another question i cant find anyhting on how the sprag works does it have anyhting to do with air engagement or is it all gear? i really dont know. mabe someone could point me towards a forum about it or a website

M813A1

the sprag gets engaged by the air valve when you shift from reverse gear to first gear it will engage the sprag for it
to go forward or in reverse . the transfer case is engeged by using the level in the cab for Hi or Low range selection

saddamsnightmare

February 24th, 2010.