• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Injection Pump Timing via STE-ICE? Is it possible? Trying to tune for HIGH ELEVATION

MuddWeiser

What kinds of tests can I run with the STE-ICE computer analyzer kit?

I love my CUCV to death (M1009). It is my ONLY vehicle and I have been using it as a daily driver for 2+ years. Its not the most comfortable vehicle and I can afford a new car - but I just love this truck.

I live in the mountains at an elevation of 6,500ft and NASTY winters. The truck never lets me down. HOWEVER --- I believe these trucks were tuned at or around SEA LEVEL . My truck runs extremely sluggish and has always felt like it is "lacking" power. I am wondering if I could use the STE-ICE engine analyzier in a "tune-up" scenario to maybe adjust things for the elevation???

SYMPTOMS:

* Engine doesn't sound consistent... Should sound like a "ratchet" turning consistant -- mine sounds like a jar of marbles getting shaken irraticly.

* Idle fluctuates high/low, even when truck is warm

* Accellerates very slow (although I never lead foot it)

* BLOWS BLACK SMOKE WHEN GOING UP HILLS (read under a load)

I am thinking I might just need to turn my Injection Pump to adjust my timing suited better for the elevation? But timing is sort of hard on a Diesel as you can't use a timing light and those fancy diesel injection timers cost upwards of $10k!!!!

ken

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It sounds like your truck is starving for air. The next time you head to modesto run down 99 and accelerate hard. I'd bet your getting alot less smoke down there. You can open the air cleaners hole to help more air get in at higher elevation. But you'll probally need to shorten or replace the exaust with a larger diameter. Like 2.5 inch pipe.