• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Keep Military OEM or change scheme looking for advice.

CamoCUCV

So Ive only had my 84 CUCV M1008 on the road about 4 days now. It draws a lot of attention I've noticed especially since it still has a lot of the USMC markings. So now I'm ready to start working on the body and I debating with myself if I should keep it original green and USMC markings or just paint it. I actually like the military look, but Ive never served in any branch. The closest thing for me is a son-in-law in the ARMY, and my brother was in the NAVY. The attention it gets makes me think people will naturally think I'm a veteran. The last thing I want to do is pretend to be someone I'm not. Stolen valor is what comes to mind, it almost makes me feel guilty to drive it. I had a guy salute me in traffic. So I'm thinking even though I love the look I might just paint it all flat black or a CAMO. Will this effect the value? Am I being to sensitive? What would you do ? Like to hear from some veterans too?

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
It's going to be your choice. I didn't serve but keep mine looking mostly original. Consider it a tribute truck. I usually opt for some loud colored shirt to wear when I drive it so folks don't think it's official business.

tobyS

I was an age that didn't serve also. My family males have and my son is on a sub 200 ft under for the summer. I understand a bit of your apprehension when people salute you.