• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Kerosene for MEP-003A

Roadracer86

I started playing around with this genset I bought from Ft Meade a few weeks ago and it looks like there was straight kerosene in the fuel pumps when I popped off the bottoms to check the fuel screens. It also looks like it was in the fuel tank as well.

Fuel lines to the injector pump were loosely connected so I'm wondering if they ran the kerosene in the pumps and filters to keep them from gumming up? Surely you can't run this genesets on straight kerosene can you? I didn't think kerosene had any lubrication properties to run in a diesel engine? Cripes I hope the motor isn't toast on this rascal. :cookoo:

n1oty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It may be jet fuel. Most of the flavors of JP fuel are basically kerosene with some additional additives.

John

Roadracer86

It may be jet fuel. Most of the flavors of JP fuel are basically kerosene with some additional additives.

John

I was reading about JP8 which the US military switched to for tanks, gensets, and aircraft back in 96. I guess it was that stuff in there; could have fooled me since it isn't everyday I'm fueling my A1 Abrams or my YF-23 vectored fighter. :grin: The only diesel I've owned in 45 years is my Kubota tractor.

coyote62ny