• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

LDS-427 vs LDT-465 in terms of "multifuel-ability"

Welder

Hello SS, I'm just getting into the deuce world. I'm building up m new welding rig on a deuce (it's one of the only trucks that can haul a military diesel welder :-D) So, i was looking at an M35A2, but the guy wanted $8500, far too much for the condition it was in. I found an A1 for a good price, but it will most liklly have a 427 in it. Now, I know all about running hydraulic fluid, ATF all them things in the 465 Multi, but will the 427 be able to run the same "waste" fuels as the 465?

Please ignore my lack of knowledge on these engines, but any inpu would be greatly appreciated :-D

Thanks in advance.

gringeltaube

Staff Member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
It's basically the same engine, same stroke, less bore; same compression ratio with the same combustion principle. So why shouldn't it.....

I know of many 427s operating in my area. One (a Toele reman., diesel only...!) used to be mine over 10 years and has done at least 25K miles on pure SVO with no problems at all, during the last 3 years since I sold it. I guess it would run as well with WMO, ATF and any popular mixtures.

G.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
-A1s are getting quite rare. If you get an -A1 don't be surprised to find an LDT in it, there was a campaign in the Mil to repower them, even covered in front of one of the TMs.

emr