• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

License Requirements for 5-ton Dump

csvendsen

I figured this was the best place as any to post this question. I know I can get a deuce and not have to worry about getting a CDL to drive it but I also really need/want a dump truck and don't have the time to convert the deuce to a dump so was thinking about getting a 5ton dump. Currently there are a few coming up on GL for auction and was thinking about bidding but if need a CDL that will put that plan on hold. I live in Virginia if that helps. Thanks all. I am a newbie to heavy trucks so I am sure there will be MANY more questions coming from me in the future.

namedpipes

You might find getting a CDL is easier than you think. In MA I can "upgrade" to a CDL with a written test and a fee. I would only need a road test for the endorsements like air brakes. (if your truck has conventional air brakes you'll need to test for that somehow)

I doubt a company would hire a driver that didn't go through the full training routine but to legally drive your own equipment...

Ruppster

Member of questionable origins
Steel Soldiers Supporter
My wife was stationed in Virginia from 2002 to 2006 and while we were there I researched VA CDL requirements for a private use semi truck and trailer. What I found out was at the time VA state law said to reference federal guidelines for the rules. But this was several years ago. You might want to check with the commercial law enforcement people in the state to make sure that hasn't changed.