• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Lift gate on a deuce?

nf6x

Feral Engineer
Do any of y'all know what it would take to put a hydraulic lift gate on a deuce (such as my M35A2C)? I've never used or installed a lift gate before, so I don't know how they generally attach to the truck's frame, whether any random lift gate I might find would be easy to adapt to the deuce's frame, etc.

Thanks in advance for any edutainment!

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
If you see Maccus in the chatbox, pop in and ask him. I believe he is familiar with them.

DDoyle

Supporting Vendor
The military installed a liftgate on certain variations of the expansible van - you might take a look at the appropriate TM for guidance.

Regards,
David Doyle

Towman2277

If you do take the liftgate route, be sure to get one that was on a larger truck comparison to the heighth of your truck, as the one-ton lift gates wouldn't reach the ground on a duece!!

Reactions: AMX

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
I have operated several vehicles equipped with lift gates, both straight trucks and trailers.
You would probably have to have a long bed deuce (I think they made a version that hauled rockets) due to the fact that the gate needs room to fold up under the bed of the truck ( that's how it worked with the truck I drove).
There also needs to be room for the electric motor and hydraulic tank.
You also have to have a big electric cable running straight to the batteries.
Anything is possible with money and tools.

nf6x

Feral Engineer