• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1008 starting problem when warm?!!

dozenjeeps

I recently bought a M1008 with 60000 miles........she starts good in this Wisconsin 20 degree weather but twice after driving 20 miles or so, I shut it off and it will not restart........turns over great but no fire..........wait couple hours and away it goes again........I am new to a diesel although I have a 2007 Dodge diesel dually, this is my first 6.2 in a old military truck, most of my experience is with gas MV'S..........Do I need a new relay or new Glow plugs??I have been on SS forums for about 2 hours and have learned alot about what to use but no idea where to start......I talked to two different repair garages today and both thought if its starts when its cold it should start easy after its warm..........well guess what?? mine does not...........will appreciate any advice I can get, I am not much of a mechanic but if its pretty easy will try to do it.......thanks

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
You may have a bad IP. No start when hot, is a sign of that.

cpf240

I agree with Doghead. One thing to try is to poor some water over the IP when hot and see if it starts. Could be the fuel shutoff solenoid doesn't work when hot. Could try to see if you can hear it click when the key is on... disconnect the pink wire, and see if it clicks when reconnected.

dozenjeeps

thanks for the reply, now I need to know what a IP is and where..........should be able to find in one of the manuals....if it is it does anyone know where to buy a good one and not some knock off junk.....?? really like driving the beast, but not starting is a little embarassing ....thanks again

sschaefer3