• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 Cooling System Overpressure

GreggVA

I think I have a blown head gasket but my carbon testing fluid is telling me otherwise. The top chamber is supposed to turn from blue to green but I tested it twice and same results. I am loosing coolant and seeing bubbles in the radiator. I am not "making oil" and the color is a nice brown and not milky. I am hesitant to pressure test the cooling system for fear of pushing coolant into the cylinder if it does have a blown gasket. There has been no noticeable change in power and runs clean without any white/dark smoke from the exhaust. I am new to diesels so struggling with how to do a compression test. I am guessing you would remove the injector and used that as a port? Would the compression be that much off to show if it seems to be running fine?

I found some other good threads also below that I have read through.

Carbontest1.jpgCarbontest2.jpg

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/showthread.php?134949-Head-Gaskets&highlight=head gasket

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/showth...or-change-engine-survey&highlight=head+gasket

Drock

Well I would say the fastest & easiest way to check would be to remove all the glow plugs, and pressure check the radiator. If it does blow coolant into a cylinder you'll know right away, either by sound or coolant running out. Then if you want to still run it for a while, you can disconnect the pink wire on the injection pump and turn over the motor to blow out the coolant. Then reinstall the glow plugs.

GreggVA