• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 slantback revisited

67_C-30

One of my friends does upholstery work, and he going to make me a soft top for M1009 that I can use in warmer months. I originally was going to copy one of the standard soft tops out there, but now I'm thinking of doing a slant back style soft top. I bought an extra Blazer top with the ambitious thought of building a slant back hard top like in the first pic, but I am no expert with fiberglass, and I'm afraid fabbing that would be WAY above me ability - plus it would be heavy as ****.

My plan is to take the extra top, and cut everything away except about 1 1/2" of it from the bedrails and where it mounts to the cab. This little bit left there could be finished out and would stay on the truck when soft top is off. I would not screw snaps into the bedsides or roof of the truck, so this would be a good place to put them. It would give a place for the snaps to be installed as well as good place to attach the mounts for the "frame" structure of the soft top. I have in mind a modular skeleton made of aluminun tubing that could be easily and quickly removed. I have access to the tubing and bender , tig welder, and machine shop at work, so this would absolutely be no problem for me to build.

I modified the a photoshop of a slant back M1009 that I saw on here a while back. I think I like the look of no side windows, but I'm not sure. I would want a rear window for sure, and would want it removeable. I think it would look killer and definitely be different.

Here's an idea of what it will look like. Keep in mind that these are just crude renderings, as I don't know how to use photoshop!:???: