• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 Starting Issue

Lional

Ok, so not to long ago I went to start my '85 M1009 and the little blue ground cable from the negative battery terminal to the core support melted. I replaced it and quickly checked my grounds before trying to start he truck again. This time the replaced wire got very hot and the starter was turning extremely slowly and the truck would not start. At this point I double checked some forum posts and dove deeper into the grounds taking off and cleaning/inspecting all of the one I could find in or near the starter systems path. I will admit I am a bit of a noob, but I did check the grounds with a multi meter after re-installation to see if I could notice anything that wasn't right. Tried to start the truck again... extra slow crank and the little wire got hot again, no start. This is when I decided to take the starter out and have it tested and clean the contacts. The starter was tested as good at the auto parts store and back in it went. I tried to start it again with the same results. This truck was converted to 12V about 5 years ago.

Any information on other items to look into or grounds that are easily missed would be a huge help!

cucvrus

Do you still have the large ground cable located on the right rear cylinder head. That light wire seems like it is pulling all the amps and providing the ground. Not good. I tend to add a few grounds. Frame to engine and engine to body. I use heavy cable and attach it to holes that exist and use star washers. Not saying that is the issue. Also have you load tested the battery's lately. Low amps makes things hot. Be Safe.

MarcusOReallyus