• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

m1009 winter fuel jelling?

camojcory

I am looking at buying a M1009 as a daily driver and I live in South Dakota where we can get some pretty nasty winters. I am new to diesel trucks and i have heard people complain about diesel fuel jelling in the cold weather. As my truck would be parked outside, is this a concern with these trucks? Do they have block heaters or do i need to install one? Any thing else i should worry about with one of these in freezing temps?

Any first hand knowledge would be greatly appreciated.

Mudstone

i had my truck in CT last winter and it was fairly cold. ensure your GP system is operating 100% glow plugs in these trucks are crazy important. As for a block heater. I didn't need it but it would make everything easier and it can't hurt. There are a ton of fuel additives that you can use to prevent gelling. I think i remember reading one member used to add a bit of gasoline to his fuel and that would prevent it. I honestly don't think gelling would be an issue on a truck that is going to get used often and with the current fuels on the market i don't think it's as much of an issue as in the past.

i'm curious to see what further posters to this site will have to say. There is a TON of knowledge in here.

tractors0130

The ULSD that we make at the refinery I work at has a pour point ( lowest temperature at which the fuel can be pumped or poured) of < -35 deg. F. As long as your buying fuel at the pump that is usually also blended for winter with #1 fuel there should be no issues of gelling or freezing. You can always use additive that has a pour point depressant and a lubricity agent if your nervous.

rnd-motorsports