• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1040 Fast Attack Vehicle (FAV)

Rockbottomfarm

I was at Ft. Lewis as a newly minted PV1 in 1984 when I first saw these. At that time I was a Combat Engineer (grunt with tools). I saw those buggies zipping around Yakima and realized I may have picked the wrong job. Thirty-plus years later they still possess an unusually high cool factor. Good luck with the project.

mkcoen

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I was at Ft. Lewis as a newly minted PV1 in 1984 when I first saw these. At that time I was a Combat Engineer (grunt with tools). I saw those buggies zipping around Yakima and realized I may have picked the wrong job. Thirty-plus years later they still possess an unusually high cool factor. Good luck with the project.
Don't you just miss Yakima? /sarc

signalcorps

I have talked to a couple other Veterans who were there too. The one's who lived in the south west didn't think much about them because they grew up around sand rails flying over dunes. It must have been a sight in Washington State! I will post more photos as I work on it. I think it is going to be a fun ride!

Valence

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Waaaaay cool!

I've always wanted one, but with bigger tires, more ground clearance and suspension travel... :roll:

Much work ahead for ya, but you knew that. I hope to see your very detailed restoration thread soon --- or it begin in this one!

mkcoen

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have talked to a couple other Veterans who were there too. The one's who lived in the south west didn't think much about them because they grew up around sand rails flying over dunes. It must have been a sight in Washington State! I will post more photos as I work on it. I think it is going to be a fun ride!